Contemporary Prints from the Lincoln Center

In 1962 Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts, Inc received a generous gift from Albert and Vera List to establish the Lincoln Center/List Print Program. Since that time the program has commissioned works of art by notable contemporary artists to commemorate major Lincoln Center openings, festivals, and special events.Thirty of these important graphic works of art will be on display beginning September 6 through October 13, 2002. This exhibition is graciously sponsored by BANK ONE, NA.

The signed and numbered prints from the Lincoln Center have been exhibited throughout the United States, Europe, and the Far East. The editions are included in the collections of several universities, the Library of Congress, the Metropolitan Museum and many private collections. Most of the works on display have been created using the silk screen method of printmaking.

Notable artists who have been commissioned by Lincoln Center included in this exhibition areWilliam Bailey, Jennifer Bartlett, Ilya Bolotowsky, Mark Di Suvero, Helen Frankenthaler, Sam Gilliam, Nancy Graves, Alex Katz, Sol Lewitt, Peter Plagens and Jamie Wyeth, to name but a few.

24th Elkhart Juried Regional The Largest Awards Show in the State!

The 24th Elkhart Juried Regional exhibition opens on Friday, OCTOBER 18, and will continue through Sunday, December 1, 2002. This year the total awards to be given to artists will be $16,700, with the $1,000 Best of Show Award donated in memory of the late Alice Skoglund. A special Memorial Purchase Award in honor of Louise J. Anes will be selected for the museum’s permanent collection for the ninth consecutive year. The museum Staff and Trustees are grateful to the families for assisting in the growth of the collection while honoring the memory of these two individuals.

Helping to make the Elkhart Juried Regional the largest (monetary awards) competition of its kind are the following Purchase Award Sponsors: Ira Anes and Family, South Bend; Tom and Dottie Arnold, Elkhart; Baker & Daniels, Elkhart; Billings Funeral Home, Elkhart; David and Julie Bird, Elkhart; Steve Bollero, Elkhart; Liz and Tom Borger, Elkhart; Dr. Rick and Cindy Burns, Elkhart; Drs. Daniel and Linda Burns, Elkhart; Kathy Bollero, Elkhart; Jack and Karen Cittadine, Elkhart; Stan and June Disher, Edwardsburg; Dr. and Mrs. James Finfrock, Elkhart; Victor and Diana Lawson, Elkhart; Dr. Wesley Mark and Dr. Mary Harder, South Bend; TaigMarks Inc., Elkhart; The Law Firm of Warrick & Boyn, Elkhart; Robert Weed Plywood Corporation, Bristol; Dr. Terry Bryant and Dr. Liz Elliott, Elkhart; Environmental Health Labs, South Bend; Jeff and Phid Wells, Elkhart; Bradley Vite Fine Arts, Elkhart.

Merit Awards this year will include the William Leighton Batten Award for Sculpture; Dick Lehman, Potter, Inc.; D & M Glass Corporation; the Elkhart Junior Women’s Club; and the Psi Iota Xi Sorority.

The two distinguished judges selecting the exhibit and museum awards will be Nick Antonakis, Professor of Art, Grand Rapids Community College and Joe Becherer, Curator, Frederik Meijer Sculpture Garden, Grand Rapids, Michigan. The 24th Elkhart Juried Regional exhibition is sponsored by KEY BANK.

error: Content is protected !!